Entries by Brian Heck

VIDEO FLASHBACK: Grażyna Bacewicz’s Concerto for String Orchestra

Grażyna Bacewicz‘s Concerto for String Orchestra premiered in Warsaw 71 years ago this week. We performed the piece with conductor Zachary Schwartzman in a physically-distanced, livestreamed concert from the Fisher Center at Bard on October 17, 2020. In his notes on the piece, TŌN violist Sean Flynn says the Concerto “is considered to be the composer’s […]

VIDEO FLASHBACK: A Chat with Tania León

In honor of her recent Pulitzer Prize win for the piece “Stride,” we are pleased to present this encore presentation of our April 8, 2021 Zoom discussion with composer, conductor, and educator Tania León. She chatted with composer and musicologist Sebastian Danila and musicians from The Orchestra Now (TŌN) about her career and her Pulitzer […]

VIDEO FLASHBACK: R. Strauss’ Metamorphosen

We’re pleased to share our performance of Metamorphosen by Richard Strauss, who was born 157 years ago this week. Strauss wrote the piece in the final days of Nazi rule and sought to convey the meaning of how World War II had dramatically transformed humanity. It is constructed in a unique format for 23 solo […]

VIDEO FLASHBACK: Witold Lutosławski’s Overture for Strings

Watch our October 2020 performance of Witold Lutosławski‘s Overture for Strings, conducted by Zachary Schwartzman. In his concert notes on the work, TŌN cellist Cameron Collins calls the overture “quite an interesting piece. After his first symphony, Lutosławski was reportedly unhappy with his own approach to the way he used pitches to create his melodies and […]

VIDEO FLASHBACK: Haydn’s Symphony No. 48, Maria Theresa

Enjoy TŌN’s performance of Haydn‘s Symphony No. 48, Maria Theresa, with conductor Leon Botstein, presented in a livestreamed, physically distanced concert from the Fisher Center at Bard on November 14, 2020. In his concert notes on the piece, TŌN cellist Pecos Singer says this symphony “hails from Haydn’s so-called Sturm und Drang (‘storm and stress’) period. The […]

VIDEO FLASHBACK: Silvestre Revueltas: Cuauhnáhuac

This summer, The Orchestra Now is pleased to release videos from our livestreamed, physically distanced concerts this past season. First up is Cuauhnáhuac by Mexican composer Silvestre Revueltas, which premiered 88 years ago this week. We performed the work on November 1, 2020 with conductor Leon Botstein. In her concert notes on the piece, TŌN violist […]

AUDIO FLASHBACK: Tchaikovsky’s Serenade for Strings

This week’s Audio Flashback is the Serenade for Strings by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, who was born 181 years ago this week. TŌN performed the work with conductor Leon Botstein on September 19, 2020 as part of the “Out of the Silence” festival, presented with the Bard Music Festival (BMF) and the Fisher Center at Bard. In his […]

Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7

Notes by TŌN oboist JJ Silvey “As a sforzando occurred, he tore his arms with great vehemence asunder . . . at the entrance of a forte he jumped into the air.” So Louis Spohr, the renowned German composer and violinist, described Beethoven’s tempestuous conducting at the premiere of the Seventh Symphony. The occasion was […]