TŌN IN: Shostakovich & Dawson

In this September 12, 2021 performance livestreamed from the Fisher Center at Bard, Leon Botstein conducts William L. Dawson’s distinctive and emotionally charged Negro Folk Symphony and Shostakovich’s enormous and patriotic 7th Symphony, Leningrad, written largely after the composer had fled the city following the German invasion during WWII.

Read the full concert program by clicking here.

Scroll down below the video for timings and concert notes.

1:00 Introductory remarks by TŌN violist Sean Flynn
6:57 William L. Dawson: Negro Folk Symphony
Read concert notes by TŌN bassist Tristen Jarvis by clicking here.

44:19 Introductory remarks by TŌN flutist Leanna Ginsburg
50:50 Dmitri Shostakovich: Symphony No. 7, Leningrad
Read concert notes by TŌN violist Celia Daggy by clicking here.

VIDEO FLASHBACK: Mendelssohn’s Symphony No. 3, “Scottish”

Today we are sharing our April 2021 performance of Felix Mendelssohn‘s Symphony No. 3, Scottish, conducted by Leon Botstein in a livestreamed, physically distanced concert from the Fisher Center at Bard. In her concert notes on the symphony, TŌN flutist Rebecca Tutunick describes how at age 20, “Mendelssohn started his Grand Tour with a three-week walking tour of Scotland, beginning in Edinburgh. . . . Over the next 13 years, Mendelssohn set aside and returned to his work on the Scottish Symphony several times, until eventually completing the symphony while in Berlin, in 1842.” You can read Rebecca’s full notes on the piece by clicking here.