China’s Sage of Music

DECEMBER 11, 2020
Friday at 7:30 PM

Having performed major new works by Chinese composers in the first two seasons of the China Now Music Festival, TŌN makes a special contribution this year in the opening event with an historic representation of the 17-member Peking University Orchestra, active in the 1920’s and the first Chinese orchestra to play Beethoven symphonies. The orchestra performs two movements from Beethoven’s 6th and 7th symphonies, conducted by Andrés Rivas and filmed on the Bard Campus at Olin Hall.
TŌN violinist Weiqiao Wu will also be performing Beethoven’s Violin Sonata No. 5, accompanied by pianist Diana Borshcheva.


All-Beethoven Program

Symphony No. 6, (I)

Symphony No. 7 (IV)

Violin Sonata No. 5, Spring (I)

Symphony No. 5 (IV)


Livestreamed Online

from Olin Hall at Bard College

China Now Music Festival

The 3rd annual China Now Music Festival presents 8 days of online events celebrating the extraordinary story of Beethoven’s cultural and musical rise in Chinese society. More info at