Russian Evolution: From Rimsky-Korsakov to Glière

DECEMBER 14, 2018
Friday at 7:30 PM

Part of TŌN’s Carnegie Hall concert series

Luxuriate in the drama of Russian music, from Rimsky’s iconic “first Russian symphony” to the exhilarating story of a national folk legend.


Rimsky-Korsakov Symphony No. 1

Reinhold Glière Symphony No. 3, Ilya Muromets

Program Detail

The concert will last approximately 2 hours and 20 minutes.

Brief remarks by TŌN bassoonist Adam Romey on behalf of TŌN violinist Clara Engen

Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov Symphony No. 1
26 min

20 min

Brief remarks by TŌN violist Emmanuel Koh

Reinhold Glière Symphony No. 3, Ilya Muromets
1 hr 12 min

All timings are approximate.

Sample the Music

Reinhold Glière Symphony No. 3, Ilya Muromets

Photo by David DeNee

Related Events


Into the Wilderness

Carnegie Hall