Out of the Silence: A Celebration of Music – Program Four

SEPTEMBER 26, 2020
Saturday at 5:30 PM

Presented by The Orchestra Now, Bard Music Festival, and Bard College Conservatory of Music

The centerpiece of Program Four is the Violin Concerto in G by Joseph Bologne, the Chevalier de Saint-Georges.

Violin soloist Ashley Horne, a member of both the American Symphony Orchestra and the Harlem Chamber Players, can also be seen in Le Mozart noir, a PBS documentary about the composer’s life.

The son of a slave and a planter in French Guadeloupe, Chevalier de Saint-Georges was not only the first known classical composer of African ancestry, but also an accomplished violinist, champion fencer and colonel of the first all-Black military regiment in Europe.

Bookending his concerto are orchestral arrangements of Solitude and Sophisticated Lady, two mid-century masterpieces by the inimitable Duke Ellington, and the Music for Strings, Percussion, and Celesta by Béla Bartók, subject of the 1995 festival.


Duke Ellington Solitude (arr. Gould)

Duke Ellington Sophisticated Lady (arr. Gould)

Joseph Bologne, Chevalier de Saint-Georges Violin Concerto in G Major, Op. 2, No. 1

Béla Bartók Music for Strings, Percussion, and Celesta


Leon Botstein conductor

Cyrus Beroukhim and Philip Payton violins


Livestreamed Online

Out of Silence: A Celebration of Music

Out of the Silence: A Celebration of Music is a series of concerts celebrating the joy of music-making and Bard’s commitment to presenting unjustly neglected works. Programs will feature works by prominent Black composers alongside a selection of pieces from the Bard Music Festival archives, together tracing the history of classical music from the late 18th century to the present and affirming the centrality of music to life and our public culture.

Enjoy this complete concert, with added commentary from Maestro Botstein, on Friday, October 2 at 8 PM on WMHT-FM,  89.1 or 88.7, or online.
>Stream WMHT online
>TŌN Radio Schedule

Photo: Duke Ellington