Out of the Silence: A Celebration of Music – Program Three

SEPTEMBER 19, 2020
Saturday at 5:30 PM

Presented by The Orchestra Now, Bard Music Festival, and Bard College Conservatory of Music

Program Three opens with the Adagio trágico by Roque Cordero, who infused twelve-tone writing with the folk rhythms of his native Panama.

In his Four Novelettes, Anglo-African late-Romantic composer Samuel Coleridge-Taylor demonstrates graceful lyricism with a light, balletic touch that is almost reminiscent of Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, subject of the festival’s 1998 season, whose soulful Serenade for Strings concludes the concert.


Roque Cordero Adagio trágico

Samuel Coleridge-Taylor Four Novelettes

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky Serenade for Strings


Livestreamed Online

Out of Silence: A Celebration of Music

Out of the Silence: A Celebration of Music is a series of concerts celebrating the joy of music-making and Bard’s commitment to presenting unjustly neglected works. Programs will feature works by prominent Black composers alongside a selection of pieces from the Bard Music Festival archives, together tracing the history of classical music from the late 18th century to the present and affirming the centrality of music to life and our public culture.

Enjoy this complete concert, with added commentary from Maestro Botstein, on Friday, September 25 at 8 PM on WMHT-FM,  89.1 or 88.7, or online.
>Stream WMHT online
>TŌN Radio Schedule

Photo: Samuel Coleridge-Taylor