The Orchestra Now is pleased to bring our audiences a variety of musical options that you can enjoy from home:

We can’t wait to perform for a live audience in the concert hall again, but in the meantime, Stay TŌNed! 

Meet the Musicians of TŌN: Maggie Wei

In this interview, TŌN trumpeter Maggie Wei talks about how she fell in love with the trumpet at age nine, the benefits of playing lesser-known music, and how a Cézanne exhibit at MoMA sparked thoughts about the roots of all artistic endeavors.

Meet the Musicians of TŌN: Jarrod Briley

In this interview, TŌN tubist Jarrod Briley talks about his switch from trumpet to tuba, his love of teaching, and keeping orchestral music accessible to all audiences.

Meet the Musicians of TŌN: Horn player Ser Konvalin

In this interview, horn player Ser Konvalin talks to us about their favorite TŌN concert series at The Metropolitan Museum of Art, and about changing the culture of orchestras to make them a better place for people from all walks of life.

Meet the Musicians of TŌN: Violinist Joyce Lee

In this interview, TŌN violinist Joyce Lee talks to us about learning to play the violin at a very young age, how she enjoys meeting audience members at concerts, and why cupcakes are her second love.

VIDEO FLASHBACK: Andrés Gaos’ Impresión Nocturna

In March, conductor Andrés Rivas led The Orchestra Now in a performance of Andrés Gaos‘ Impresion Nocturna, which premiered in Paris 84 years ago this week. TŌN violinist Nicole Oswald writes, “One would wonder if Gaos was inspired by the rich harmonic texture and endless melodic material in Mahler’s Adagietto, while keeping the sincere sentiment of Samuel Barber’s famous Adagio for Strings. By comparison, Gaos’ orchestration has a dense harmonic texture at times with overlapping suspensions almost reminiscent of the old Hollywood sound we expect to hear from Erich Wolfgang Korngold. The sonorous quality of string orchestra coupled with the mild tempo and rich harmony creates a beautiful palate for any listener.” You can read Nicole’s full concert notes on the piece by clicking here.

VIDEO FLASHBACK: Bruce Montgomery’s Concertino for String Orchestra

In March, conductor Andrés Rivas led The Orchestra Now in a livestreamed, physically distanced performance of Bruce Montgomery‘s Concertino for String Orchestra at the Fisher Center at Bard. Former TŌN violinist Shaina Pan wrote that “[The] English composer wrote mostly choral and film music, but was also known for his classic crime novels and short stories which he wrote under the pseudonym Edmund Crispin. . . . Concertino for String Orchestra is [his] sole instrumental work. After its first performance, a review described the piece as ‘a graceful, flowing, three-movement work, well written, economical in notes and notable for a lyrical lento espressivo of imaginative warmth.’” You can read Shaina’s full notes on the piece by clicking here.

VIDEO FLASHBACK: Frank Martin’s Petite symphonie concertante

In March, conductor Zachary Schwartzman led The Orchestra Now and soloists Renée Anne Louprette on  harpsichord, Frank Corliss on piano, and Taylor Ann Fleshman TŌN ’22 on harp in a performance of the Petite symphonie concertante by composer Frank Martin, who was born 131 years ago this week. Taylor Ann Fleshman writes that “The Petite symphonie concertante was composed in 1945 from a request made by Paul Sacher. Sacher did not micromanage how the piece was to be composed, but his one specific request was that plucked basso continuo instruments were to be employed along with standard string instruments. From here, Martin decided to use instruments that are still common today, which included harp, piano, and harpsichord. These three instruments are the soloists of the work while the remaining strings are split into two equally important groups.” You can read Taylor’s full concert notes on the piece by clicking here.

VIDEO FLASHBACK: Schoenberg’s Chamber Symphony No. 1

Last November, conductor Leon Botstein led The Orchestra Now in a livestreamed, physically distanced performance of the Chamber Symphony No. 1 of composer Arnold Schoenberg, who was born 147 years ago this week. TŌN clarinetist Matthew Griffith writes that “the Chamber Symphony No. 1 is a landmark at a distinctly pivotal moment in the history of classical music. . . . There are only 15 players on the stage, but the expressive range and intensity still sounds remarkably like a full orchestra.” You can read Matthew’s full concert notes on the work by clicking here.

VIDEO FLASHBACK: Bernstein’s Serenade (after Plato’s Symposium)

In April, violinist Zongheng Zhang joined TŌN and conductor Leon Botstein for a performance of Leonard Bernstein‘s Serenade (after Plato’s Symposium) in a physically distanced concert that was livestreamed from the Fisher Center at Bard. TŌN timpanist Keith Hammer III writes that the piece is “based on Plato’s dialogue The Symposium. Plato’s work is a musical reflection of the impassioned, yet rancorous, speeches on the subject of love made by philosophers such as Aristophanes, Agathon, Phaedrus, and Socrates.” You can read Keith’s full concert notes on the Serenade by clicking here.

Meet the Musicians of TŌN: Bassist Tristen Jarvis

We recently sat down with TŌN bassist Tristen Jarvis who talked to us about his transition from sports to music, his love of Respighi’s Pines of Rome, and how he loves learning how to be his own teacher as a member of The Orchestra Now.