The Orchestra Now is pleased to bring our audiences a variety of musical options that you can enjoy from home:

  • TŌN IN, new video releases including streaming concerts, performances from home, interviews, and more—New video releases every Thursday!
  • Flashbacks to past concerts through audio and video recordings—New audio flashback releases every Tuesday!
  • Videos of our musicians playing music at home, and creating fun collaborations with their friends and colleagues
  • Interview videos where you get to meet the musicians of TŌN
  • and more!!

We can’t wait to perform for a live audience in the concert hall again, but in the meantime, Stay TŌNed! 

AUDIO FLASHBACK: Beethoven’s Symphony No. 3, Eroica

Ludwig van Beethoven, one of the greatest classical composers of all time, was born 250 years ago this week. We honor him by sharing our February performance of his Symphony No. 3, Eroica. This innovative work marked a turning point not only in Beethoven’s career, but in music history altogether. We performed it with conductor Leon Botstein at the Fisher Center at Bard in a concert celebrating Beethoven. You can read the concert notes, written by TŌN flutist Leanna Ginsburg, by clicking here.

TŌN IN: Out of the Silence—Program Four

This Throwback Thursday, revisit the final program from our September series Out of the Silence, presented with the Bard Music Festival, the Bard College Conservatory of Music, and the Fisher Center at Bard. Led by TŌN’s music director, Leon Botstein, this concert features Duke Ellington‘s Solitude and Sophisticated Lady; Joseph Bologne, Chevalier de Saint-Georges‘ Symphonie concertante in G Major, with violinists Cyrus Beroukhim and Philip Payton; and Music for Strings, Percussion, and Celesta by Béla Bartók, who was the subject of the 1995 Bard Music Festival.

AUDIO FLASHBACK: Stravinsky’s Symphony of Psalms

This Tuesday’s Audio Flashback is Igor Stravinsky’s Symphony of Psalms, which premiered 90 years ago this week. Stravinsky uses unusual instrumentation in this piece to create dark resonance and complexity. It all leads to an incredibly thought-provoking musical experience. Our 2018 performance at the Fisher Center at Bard, with the Bard College Chamber Singers and Bard Festival Chorale under the direction of James Bagwell, was led by conductor Leon Botstein. You can read the concert notes by clicking here.

TŌN IN: Haydn’s Maria Theresa

On November 14, TŌN’s music director Leon Botstein, and assistant conductor, Andrés Rivas, led the orchestra in a streaming concert from the Fisher Center at Bard that featured three 20th-century works that all premiered in the U.S.—including the rarely heard Scherzi musicali of African American composer Ulysses Kay, who taught at Lehman College in the Bronx for twenty years—along with Haydn‘s regal Maria Theresa Symphony, performed for the Holy Roman Empress in 1773. Scroll down below the video for basic program info and timings, or click here to read the full concert program.

0:40 Introductory remarks by TŌN violinist Jacques Gadway
4:35 Edgard Varèse Hyperprism
Leon Botstein conductor
Read concert notes by TŌN horn player Steven Harmon by clicking here.

9:44 Introductory remarks by TŌN trumpet player Guillermo García Cuesta
14:05 Paul Hindemith Concert Music for Piano, Brass, and Harps
Leon Botstein conductor
Blair McMillen piano
Read concert notes by TŌN tuba player Jarrod Briley by clicking here.

40:13 Introductory remarks by TŌN cellist Kelly Knox
43:28 Ulysses Kay Scherzi musicali
Andrés Rivas conductor
Read concert notes by TŌN horn player Ser Konvalin by clicking here.

1:05:02 Introductory remarks by TŌN violinist Dillon Robb
1:07:56 Franz Joseph Haydn Symphony No. 48, Maria Theresa
Leon Botstein conductor
Read concert notes by TŌN cellist Pecos Singer by clicking here.

TŌN on the Radio: Performance Today

Performance Today, aired on public radio nationwide, is broadcasting the our performance of the first movement of Edward Elgar‘s Symphony No. 1 on today’s episode. Stream the episode online for the next 30 days at, or tune in to WMHT 89.1/88.7 FM tonight at 8 PM. You can read the concert notes, written by former TŌN bassoonist Adam Romey, by clicking here.

AUDIO FLASHBACK: Elgar’s Symphony No. 1

This week’s audio flashback is our 2018 performance of Edward Elgar’s Symphony No. 1, performed with conductor Leon Botstein at the Fisher Center at Bard. Hans Richter, who conducted the premiere 112 years ago this Thursday, called it “the greatest symphony of modern times.” The audience at the premiere was so enthusiastic that Elgar was called to the stage to take a bow five times, and the symphony was performed around the world over 80 times in the following year. You can read the concert notes by clicking here.

A Thanksgiving Treat: Ashokan Farewell

We would like to wish all of our patrons a very happy Thanksgiving! Please enjoy this short video of TŌN violinists Misty Drake and Nicole Oswald performing their own arrangement of Jay Ungar‘s Ashokan Farewell for a physically distanced audience at Peaceful Windhorse Farm in Clermont, NY on October 24, 2020.

The Orchestra Now has much to be grateful for as we enter the season of thanks. Our musicians have safely completed another semester and have embraced any opportunity to make music together. But most of all, we are thankful for our audiences of music lovers like you, who joined us for virtual concerts and live outdoor performances across the Hudson Valley over the past several months. Thank you for showing your enthusiasm for our efforts. We are delighted to make music happen in any capacity we can and will continue to share our digital offerings with you through the coming months.  We look forward to welcoming you to a concert when it is safe again to do so!

From all of us at The Orchestra Now, thank you!

AUDIO FLASHBACK: Penderecki’s Double Concerto

Our second Audio Flashback today is the 2012 Double Concerto of Polish composer Krzysztof Penderecki, who was born 87 years ago yesterday and passed away this past March. We performed the work in December 2017 with conductor JoAnn Falletta and two of her colleagues from the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra: violist Dennis Kim and cellist Roman Mekinulov. You can read the concert notes by clicking here.

AUDIO FLASHBACK: Stravinsky’s Divertimento, The Fairy’s Kiss Suite

Our first Audio Flashback this Tuesday is the suite from Stravinsky‘s ballet The Fairy’s Kiss, which we performed last November at the Fisher Center at Bard with conductor Leon Botstein. The ballet, which is an adaptation of the Hans Christian Andersen fairy tale The Ice Maiden and was Stravinsky’s homage to Tchaikovsky, premiered at the Paris Opera 92 years ago this Friday. You can read the concert notes, written by TŌN cellist Sarah Schoeffler, by clicking here.

TŌN IN: Sunset Serenade at Old Dutch Church

This Throwback Thursday, revisit our Sunset Serenade concert from late September, when woodwind musicians from The Orchestra Now performed short pieces outside of Old Dutch Church in Kingston, NY for a physically distanced audience. Enjoy music by Claude Debussy, Georg Philipp Telemann, and others, performed on flute, oboe, and clarinet.

View the video by clicking here.
View the concert information by clicking here.