The Orchestra Now is pleased to bring our audiences a variety of musical options that you can enjoy from home:

We can’t wait to perform for a live audience in the concert hall again, but in the meantime, Stay TŌNed! 

AUDIO FLASHBACK: Jennifer Higdon’s blue cathedral

Our first Audio Flashback this Tuesday is to our 2018 performance of Jennifer Higdon‘s ethereal and emotional blue cathedral. Higdon called the piece “a place of beginnings, endings, solitude, fellowship, contemplation, knowledge, and growth.” We performed the work with conductor James Bagwell at the Fisher Center at Bard on February 3, 2018. You can read notes from the composer by clicking here.

TŌN IN: Chamber Performances—Fall 2020

This holiday season we’d love to share with you some recent chamber performances presented by the musicians of The Orchestra Now. Enjoy short works by Mozart, Ravel, Duke Ellington, and others. We hope this music helps to brighten your holiday as we head in to a hopeful new year. Scroll down below the video for program info and timings.

0:19 Maurice Ravel String Quartet in F major
IV. Vif et agité
Yada Lee violin
Esther Goldy Roestan violin
Celia Daggy viola
Lucas Button cello

5:52 Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Oboe Quartet in F major
I. Allegro
Shawn Hutchison oboe
Yada Lee violin
Larissa Mapua viola
Sarah Schoeffler cello

12:52 Arcady Dubensky Concerto Grosso for Three Trombones and Tuba
I. Prelude, II. Toccata, III. Fugue
Ian Striedter tenor trombone
David Kidd tenor trombone
Jack E. Noble bass trombone
Jarrod Briley tuba

19:52 Paul Dukas (arr. Wayne Barrington) La Péri Fanfare
22:08 Howard Cable A Newfoundland Sketch
26:06 Duke Ellington (arr. Jack Gale) In a Sentimental Mood
Samuel Exline trumpet
Guillermo García Cuesta trumpet
Emily Buehler horn
David Kidd tenor trombone
Jarrod Briley tuba

AUDIO FLASHBACK: Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 4

Beethoven‘s Piano Concerto No. 4 premiered on this day in 1808 in Vienna. Beethoven wrote the piece for himself, and its premiere was the last time he ever performed as a soloist with an orchestra. Pianist Anna Polonsky played the concerto with The Orchestra Now and conductor Leon Botstein at the Fisher Center at Bard this past February. You can read the concert notes, written by TŌN horn player Steven Harmon, by clicking here.

VIDEO FLASHBACK: Debussy’s Rhapsody for Clarinet

This week we’re revisiting our performance of Claude Debussy’s Rhapsody for Clarinet, with TŌN’s very own Viktor Tóth as the soloist. We performed this work with conductor Tan Dun one year ago this week at Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Rose Theater. You can read the concert notes, written by TŌN clarinetist Ye Hu, by clicking here.

AUDIO FLASHBACK: Beethoven’s Symphony No. 3, Eroica

Ludwig van Beethoven, one of the greatest classical composers of all time, was born 250 years ago this week. We honor him by sharing our February performance of his Symphony No. 3, Eroica. This innovative work marked a turning point not only in Beethoven’s career, but in music history altogether. We performed it with conductor Leon Botstein at the Fisher Center at Bard in a concert celebrating Beethoven. You can read the concert notes, written by TŌN flutist Leanna Ginsburg, by clicking here.

VIDEO FLASHBACK: Out of the Silence—Program Four

This Throwback Thursday, revisit the final program from our September series Out of the Silence, presented with the Bard Music Festival, the Bard College Conservatory of Music, and the Fisher Center at Bard. Led by TŌN’s music director, Leon Botstein, this concert features Duke Ellington‘s Solitude and Sophisticated Lady; Joseph Bologne, Chevalier de Saint-Georges‘ Symphonie concertante in G Major, with violinists Cyrus Beroukhim and Philip Payton; and Music for Strings, Percussion, and Celesta by Béla Bartók, who was the subject of the 1995 Bard Music Festival.

AUDIO FLASHBACK: Stravinsky’s Symphony of Psalms

This Tuesday’s Audio Flashback is Igor Stravinsky’s Symphony of Psalms, which premiered 90 years ago this week. Stravinsky uses unusual instrumentation in this piece to create dark resonance and complexity. It all leads to an incredibly thought-provoking musical experience. Our 2018 performance at the Fisher Center at Bard, with the Bard College Chamber Singers and Bard Festival Chorale under the direction of James Bagwell, was led by conductor Leon Botstein. You can read the concert notes by clicking here.

AUDIO FLASHBACK: Elgar’s Symphony No. 1

This week’s audio flashback is our 2018 performance of Edward Elgar’s Symphony No. 1, performed with conductor Leon Botstein at the Fisher Center at Bard. Hans Richter, who conducted the premiere 112 years ago this Thursday, called it “the greatest symphony of modern times.” The audience at the premiere was so enthusiastic that Elgar was called to the stage to take a bow five times, and the symphony was performed around the world over 80 times in the following year. You can read the concert notes by clicking here.

A Thanksgiving Treat: Ashokan Farewell

We would like to wish all of our patrons a very happy Thanksgiving! Please enjoy this short video of TŌN violinists Misty Drake and Nicole Oswald performing their own arrangement of Jay Ungar‘s Ashokan Farewell for a physically distanced audience at Peaceful Windhorse Farm in Clermont, NY on October 24, 2020.

The Orchestra Now has much to be grateful for as we enter the season of thanks. Our musicians have safely completed another semester and have embraced any opportunity to make music together. But most of all, we are thankful for our audiences of music lovers like you, who joined us for virtual concerts and live outdoor performances across the Hudson Valley over the past several months. Thank you for showing your enthusiasm for our efforts. We are delighted to make music happen in any capacity we can and will continue to share our digital offerings with you through the coming months.  We look forward to welcoming you to a concert when it is safe again to do so!

From all of us at The Orchestra Now, thank you!

AUDIO FLASHBACK: Penderecki’s Double Concerto

Our second Audio Flashback today is the 2012 Double Concerto of Polish composer Krzysztof Penderecki, who was born 87 years ago yesterday and passed away this past March. We performed the work in December 2017 with conductor JoAnn Falletta and two of her colleagues from the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra: violist Dennis Kim and cellist Roman Mekinulov. You can read the concert notes by clicking here.