TŌN IN: Gil Shaham & Julia Perry

In this November 14, 2021 performance livestreamed from the Fisher Center at Bard, globally renowned violinist and Bard Conservatory of Music faculty member Gil Shaham joins conductor Leon Botstein and The Orchestra Now for the world premiere of Birds of America, a new concerto written for him by award-winning composer Scott Wheeler. Also on the program are Julia Perry’s dramatic Stabat Mater with mezzo-soprano Briana Hunter, and George Bristow’s rarely-head Arcadian Symphony in a new edition by Bard Conservatory professor Kyle Gann.

Read the full concert program by clicking here.

Scroll down below the video for timings and concert notes.

0:29 Introductory remarks by TŌN violinist Esther Goldy Roestan
4:11 Julia Perry Stabat Mater
Read concert notes by TŌN violinist Yi-Ting Kuo by clicking here.

28:09 Introductory remarks by TŌN violinist Esther Goldy Roestan
31:56 Scott Wheeler Birds of America: Violin Concerto No. 2
Read concert notes by the composer by clicking here.

54:08 Introductory remarks by TŌN horn player Ser Konvalin
1:00:37 George Frederick Bristow Symphony No. 4, Arcadian
Read concert notes by TŌN oboist JJ Silvey by clicking here.