TŌN IN: Mendelssohn & Bernstein

On April 10, TŌN’s music director, Leon Botstein, led the orchestra in a streaming concert from the Fisher Center at Bard that featured Mendelssohn’s “Scottish” Symphony and Bernstein’s Serenade (after Plato’s Symposium), featuring violin soloist Zongheng Zhang, a winner of the 2020 Bard Conservatory Concerto Competition. Also on the program is the 2008 work Ácana from Cuban-born composer Tania León, and Stravinsky’s Concerto for Piano and Wind Instruments, performed with pianist Blair McMillen.

Scroll down below the video for basic program info and timings.
Click here to read the full concert program.
Click here to watch our April 8 Zoom chat with composer Tania León.

0:58 Introductory remarks by TŌN trombonist David Kidd
6:07 Tania León Ácana
Read concert notes by TŌN bassoonist Cheryl Fries by clicking here.

19:59 Introductory remarks by TŌN oboist Shawn Hutchison
23:06 Leonard Bernstein Serenade (after Plato’s Symposium)
Zongheng Zhang violin
Read concert notes by TŌN timpanist Keith Hammer III by clicking here.

57:31 Introductory remarks by TŌN tuba player Jarrod Briley
1:00:15 Igor Stravinsky Concerto for Piano and Wind Instruments
Blair McMillen piano
Read concert notes by TŌN bass trombonist Jack E. Noble by clicking here.

1:20:36 Introductory remarks by TŌN clarinetist Matthew Griffith
1:24:26 Remarks by TŌN music director Leon Botstein
1:29:46 M. Felix Mendelssohn Symphony No. 3, Scottish
Read concert notes by TŌN flutist Rebecca Tutunick by clicking here.