TŌN IN: New & Classic Works for Strings

On February 21, TŌN’s associate conductor, James Bagwell, led the orchestra in a streaming concert from the Fisher Center at Bard that featured the world premiere of Falling Together by composer Sarah Hennies, and the 2005 piece Popcorn Superhet Receiver by Radiohead guitarist Jonny Greenwood, which was used in the film There Will Be Blood. The program also includes Grieg’s classic Holberg Suite and a popular work by Vaughan Williams. Scroll down below the video for basic program info and timings, or click here to read the full concert program.

0:56 Introductory remarks by TŌN cellist Eva Roebuck
4:46 Sarah Hennies Falling Together (World Premiere)
Read concert notes, written by the composer, by clicking here.

30:17 Introductory remarks by TŌN violist Katelyn Hoag
32:37 Ralph Vaughan Williams Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis
Read concert notes by TŌN violinist Xinran Li by clicking here.

47:33 Introductory remarks by TŌN cellist Pecos Singer
49:28 Jonny Greenwood Popcorn Superhet Receiver
Read concert notes by TŌN bassist Tristen Jarvis by clicking here.

1:08:08 Introductory remarks by TŌN violinist Zhen Liu
1:09:21 Edvard Grieg Holberg Suite
Read concert notes by TŌN violinist Misty Drake by clicking here.